Serious Lack of Inspiration

If there was an award for sitting at your desk, holding your head in your hand and giving the deepest sighs, I would win. I have been the Queen of Funk lately and not in the cool musical way. I’m going for distance when it comes to napping too. Lately, it’s mostly what I do.

I keep thinking of things I could do but that inner slacker, who’s really coming out of her shell these days, changes my mind rapidly. I have started to write a book, started to paint, began a few sketches too. I get only so far when the overwhelming doldrums seep in and everything sits in various phases of futility right where I left them. I make plans and break them just as easily. I am willingly becoming a hermit.

I keep hoping the coming of spring will have a positive effect on me. If it ever really comes. Consistent sunshine would be nice. Warmer temps too. But so far, we’ve had only intermittent sun layered with clouds, rain and even snow. It’s April Wisconsin. Get with the program.

I know I’m not alone in this forced heritage. I have friends who feel it too. Together we face this morose veil but separately because that veil keeps us tight in our individual hermitages. I know there will come a day, when the sun has shown for a consistent time, when temperatures rise to a reasonable level and we will emerge. Our thoughts clear, creativity flowing and our faces smiling. At least, this is my dream.

But for now, it might be nap time. Because ain’t nothing else gonna get done around here!

Leave a comment